If I have an equipped creature and also my opponent Mind Controls it, walk my equipment remain attached to it? can I re-equip that devices to one of my creatures on my turn? i assume since I manage the equipment I"m the just one that can play its triggered abilities due to the fact that it was just the equipped creature that was mind-controlled.

Another example where this might happen would be Act that Treason.

You are watching: Can you equip opponents creatures mtg


*

*

You room correct. The tools stays attached to the steal creature, however you still manage it and also may re-equip it to a various creature the you control.

Here are the rules for devices (emphasis added):

301.5. Some artefacts have the subtype “Equipment.” An devices can be attached come a creature. It can’t legally be attached to an objectthat no a creature.

301.5a The biology an devices is attached come is called the “equipped creature.” The equipment is attached to, or “equips,” thatcreature.

301.5b An tools is cast and enters the battlefield just like any type of other artifact. An devices doesn’t enter the battlefield enclosed toa creature. The equip keyword capacity attaches the tools to acreature you regulate (see preeminence 702.6, “Equip”). Regulate of thecreature problem only once the equip capability is activated and when itresolves. Spells and other abilities may also attach an tools to acreature. If an impact attempts to connect an equipment to an objectthat can not be fitted by it, the devices doesn’t move.

301.5c An devices that’s also a biology can’t equip a creature. An devices that loses the subtype “Equipment” can not equip a creature.An devices can’t equip itself. An devices that equips an illegalor missing permanent becomes unattached native that long-term butremains ~ above the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule704.) An devices can’t equip more than one creature. If a order or ability would cause an devices to equip an ext than one creature, theEquipment’s controller choose which creature it equips.

301.5d An Equipment’s controller is different from the fitted creature’s controller; the two need not be the same. Changing controlof the biology doesn’t change control the the Equipment, and also viceversa. only the Equipment’s controller deserve to activate the abilities.However, if the equipment grants an capability to the fitted creature(with “gains” or “has”), the fitted creature’s controller is theonly one who deserve to activate the ability.

And here"s the precise wording of the equip capability (emphasis added):

702.6a Equip is an activated ability of equipment cards. “Equip ” way “: attach this long-term to target biology youcontrol. Activate this capability only any time friend could cast asorcery.”

So, essentially, just the equip capability itself states "creature friend control." If the tools is already attached, the only limitations are:

The equipped permanent have to still be a biology (301.5).The devices cannot chin be a creature (301.5c).The devices can"t it is in attached to a biology with defense from it, due to the meaning of security (702.16).

See more: How Many Miles To Mobile Alabama ) And Mobile, How Far Is Birmingham (Alabama) From Mobile

Creatures changing control doesn"t violate that.